Share This Post

Men’s lacrosse player named RMAC All-Academic Player of the Year

Westminster College senior Harrison Nye was honored by the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference and named the 2020 All-Academic Player of the Year Feb 16. (Photo Courtesy: Eric Stephens)

Westminster College senior Harrison Nye was named the 2020 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference All-Academic Player of the Year Thursday, after starting in every men’s lacrosse game in the season while holding a 3.9 cumulative GPA. 

Nye earned honor roll recognition in 2018 and 2019 and was named First Team All-RMAC last season.

This year, five Griffins were named to the first team: sophomores Easton Albert and Quinn Lewis, junior Blake Gross and seniors Sean Edwards and Nye. 

Nine Griffins were named to the honor roll: sophomores Dylan Brauer, Gavin Beilman, Andoni Odencrantz, Braxton Packer and Spencer Whinery, juniors Chance Beutler, Eli Gaunt and Jordan Pennand and senior Jacob Taylor.

In order to be named to the honor roll, student-athletes are required to maintain a 3.30 cumulative GPA and be an active student for at least two consecutive semesters or three consecutive quarters.

The men’s lacrosse team has earned the RMAC Brechler Award each year since first joining the conference in 2015-16. The award recognizes the conference’s top team GPA in each of the RMAC’s 22 sports.

Sports coverage by The Forum is created in part through a partnership with the Westminster College Athletics Program.


Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

5 × two =